Honda TRX Discussions for the Honda TRX, 90, 250, 300, 400, 450, 700

2Likes
  • 1 Post By Goober
  • 1 Post By TRX2fiveO
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-19-2018, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Which carb do I need?

Hey everybody! I just picked up a 2009 trx90 for my son's upgrade. This trx sat for 2 years and I'm preparing a thorough cleaning of the carb and fuel lines. I am considering a new one vs a cleaning, I'm worried, as I'm new to tinkering with carbs, I'm not afraid to mess up or lose pieces, I want a back up plan and have a carb in mind before I jump in. Rockymountainatv has 1 part number that replaces 2 different part numbers. Any thoughts? Any pointers for me before I jump in to a disassembly and cleaning?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-19-2018, 07:46 PM Thread Starter

Garage
By the way, it really only starts when choke is fully engaged, but only idles when choke is off. Hesitation when I slowly engage the throttle, and dies out when I really hit the throttle.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-19-2018, 08:52 PM
Gold Supporting Member
Supporting Member

Liked: 468 times
Try cleaning the old one itís about a 2 on a scale of 1-10.
Get some Berrymans Chemtool and a half gallon plastic tub with lid. Nitrile gloves. Pipe cleaners and cotton swabs.
Follow the instructions in the service manual and donít throw anything away. Use screwdrivers with good bits some of those screws may be tight.
Brettski likes this.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-20-2018, 09:23 AM
Super Moderator
Supporting Member

Liked: 365 times
Garage