1999 Foreman 450 no spark | cvetitula.ru
Repair & Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By retro
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-20-2017, 10:16 PM Thread Starter

Liked: 6 times
1999 Foreman 450 no spark

I've got a 99 Honda Foreman 450 that won't run because of no/weak spark. I've got the front fender off just for access. With the spark plug grounded to the engine, I have seen 2 weak arcs from the plug, in the total of cranking on it for a couple minutes. I had a spare cdi and plug and neither have changed anything, I'm not good with this kind of stuff, I had several offers for $600 on it but I wanted to see if I could fix it. Can anyone point me in the right direction here?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 01:35 AM
Super Moderator
Supporting Member

Liked: 652 times
You'll have to learn whether it needs a CDI, a pulse gen, a stator, a battery, a kill switch, ignition switch, or a neutral light, etc.

Is this an ES bike? Are there any aftermarket parts on it? Have you cleaned the grounds and all of the electrical plug connectors yet?

You'll learn about all of the above by following the diagnostic procedures for each in an orderly manner. You can get a copy of the service manual . Read each relevant chapter before beginning work and print them out so you can follow along as you work through each step.

You'll also need a fresh battery in your multimeter, a fully charged battery in good condition installed in the bike and lots of time to spend on it. Ask questions if you have them and let us know how its going if ya can.

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-24-2017, 10:27 AM Thread Starter